Planning boards provide advice and assistance under the Planning Act on matters referred by municipal councils and by the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. The boards prepare official plans for these areas and, at the request of member council(s), for municipalities.

The board administers a site-specific zoning by-law, has the authority to grant consents and has been delegated subdivision, condominium, validations, foreclosures and powers of sale authority.

The Smooth Rock Falls Planning Committee board members are:

Daniel Alie, Chairperson and Councillor
Patrick Roberts, Councillor
Marc Blais, Councillor
Michel Arseneault, Mayor
Lise Côté-Pelchat Provincial Appointee
Veronique Dion, Secretary Treasurer

Useful Documents

Key planning documents used by this board include:
Smooth Rock Falls Official Plan
Planning Fees By-Law
Zoning By-Law
Zoning By-Law Schedule A Urban
Schedule A Rural
Schedule B Urban
Zoning By-Law Schedule B Rural
Haggart Zoning By-Law
Haggart Zoning By-Law Schedule A

Application Form

Any resident of Smooth Rock can apply to have the planning by-laws changed.  Print and complete the following form and send it to Veronique Dion at or (705) 338-2717 ext. 7.

Zoning By-Law Application Form

Helpful Links

Planning Act

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing – Land Use Planning page

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing –  Citizens’ Guide to Land Use Planning